Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hatchling

Advice to start mining

I have 100 PED and want to start gaining mining skills to see if I want to specialize in mining. I've read a few things on mining so I know that resources re-spawn in the area that they are found in and that to efficiently mine your next bomb should be 100-110 meters away. I was just wondering if there are any other basic tips one could share with me about mining as I am a complete noob and haven't even bought anything yet because I wasn't' sure if the rookie equipment was most effective for beginners.

Thanks for reading!

Draze
    --Draze Swift

2. Sponsored Links
    Hatchling
    For 20 PED you can buy 10 Rookie Finders and 390 probes, this will give you 130 double drops, just stack all your finds and repeat. Sell stacks on auction when they are up to 20 PED or more.

Young
    100 ped not much leeway for mining May be best on rookie I have never used. Could use the tt finder and just do ores (seem to have better MU) but may need more peds for low runs.

Use this software to track what you find and where www.mininglog.com/ Also has a map showing what resources are found and where.

Goodluck out there

Very good advice to find out where the resources are, that is how the miners do it.. aim for the ores and enmatters with highest MU will give you nice return.

Selling at auction when you got 20 isn't worth it.. find a good trader instead which gives you like -1%. the auction fee is at least 0.5 ped + you have to refine it.

Also I would recommend you drop bombs about every 60 meters, if you wanna cover a area.
    Raxxor

Mature
    Quote Originally Posted by raxxor View Post
    Also I would recommend you drop bombs about every 60 meters, if you wanna cover a area.
    Excuse me!!?!?!!

Ignore this, your initial assumption is correct, 100-110m is the proper distance. Overlapping your claims may get you the odd extra find but in the long run it will just reduce your hit-rate.